Poems

I am not really into poems but sometimes, there are some poems that really captures the essence of your soul. Below are my 2 favorites poems:

I am a Christian by Maya Angelou

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not shouting “I’m clean livin’.”
I’m whispering “I was lost,
Now I’m found and forgiven.”

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I don’t speak of this with pride.
I’m confessing that I stumble
and need Christ to be my guide.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not trying to be strong.
I’m professing that I’m weak
And need His strength to carry on.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not bragging of success.
I’m admitting I have failed
And need God to clean my
mess.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not claiming to be perfect,
My flaws are far too visible
But, God believes I am worth it.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I still feel the sting of pain.
I have my share of heartaches
So I call upon His name.

When I say… “I am a Christian”
I’m not holier than thou,
I’m just a simple sinner
Who received God’s good grace, somehow.

I think that this poem describe exactly my life as a Christian and I believe that other people can relate to this too.

 

SENSATION by Arthur Rimbaud

Par les soirs bleus d’été, j’irai dans les sentiers,

Picoté par les blés, fouler l’herbe menue :

Rêveur, j’en sentirai la fraîcheur à mes pieds.

Je laisserai le vent baigner ma tête nue.

Je ne parlerai pas, je ne penserai rien :

Mais l’amour infini me montera dans l’âme,

Et j’irai loin, bien loin, comme un bohémien,

                                                                          Par la Nature, – heureux comme avec une femme.

 

This poem is in French, I know, but translating it wouldn’t do it justice.  As reading the poem, you could feel the wind blowing on your head ( “ je laisserai le vent baigner ma tête nue.” ) and the peace that you feel when wandering in nature. Wonderful!    🙂

Leave a Reply

