Being a christian

 I grew up in a pentecostal church and as far as I remember, my mom always brought my sister and me to church every sunday and as a child, we did not truly understand what was  going on, we knew that we had to stay calm, be nice and not talk to much. My mom would taught us little prayers, bible verses and songs.

When I became a little older, I truly wanted to please God in any way I could, I prayed with sincerity, I was not getting myself into troubles because I knew that He was watching. Then, came the teenage period along with my spiritual and philosophical questionning. During this period I had doubts about everything, and wanted somehow to rebel. My teenage years were not too difficult and I manage to get out of it without any major damage.

I never thought about following other religions, I do not know whether it’s because I was too afraid of trying something else or because I loved where I was. I had questions and sometimes I was comparing my religion to others, thinking about “advantages”  other religions had.  

Now, that I am a young woman, part of my questionning have gone but some remains.  For example, I wonder if I had grew up in some other religion, would I have the same attitude, would I made the same choices? I doubt it , because I believe religion influences our choices but remember that the one who should influence our choices is Jesus. Only when following Jesus, we can make the good choices.

Being a christian is not a trend or an attitude, being a christian is a calling of the soul who long for something higher, something divine.  Everyone soul needs to be fulfill because an empty soul is dead.  Now, it depends on you to decide how are you going to fulfill your soul.

Being a christian requires that you fix your eyes on Jesus constantly, study His word, pray without ceasing.  Despite my choice to follow those wise words, I stumble so many times, mostly because I want to make my own choices, find solutions to my problems, and because I think that I can do everything by myself but this is just a big lie. I am lying to myself because even though I have some appreciable qualities, I am not a superhero. I need someone to have my back and the only one who does that perfectly is God.

Another mistake we always make is not knowing God’s will. We always pray about what we want but what about what God wants? His plans are much better than ours, even if our demands are legitimate, God wants to offer us more than what we ask for :

“Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us, unto him be the glory in the church and in Christ Jesus unto all generations for ever and ever. ”  (Ephesians 3:20-21 ASV )

The best way to be a better christian is to let God work on us through the Holy Spirit and let His plan take shape in our lives.  He knows what our needs and desires and He got the best in store for us.

Leave a Reply

